Reflections on 2012 & Goals for 2013

2012 was a rough year for me as far as my running goes. When running my first Marathon in September of 2011 I caused a stress fracture in my right foot. Going to doctor he told me I would need to rest for my foot for at least 12 weeks in order to ensure my foot can properly heal. Knowing that I was already registered for a few races in the spring of 2012, I negotiated a quicker timeline and in the end only ended up taking an 8 week break.

Things were going great until I ran the Flying Pirate Half Marathon in April. Not only did I re-fracture the right foot, I also caused a stress fracture in my left foot! And with that, my running plans for 2012 came to a screaming halt! I missed every race after that I had registered for.

Looking back, it would have been much to give my foot the extra 2-3 weeks it probably needed during the winter. Instead I pushed my body harder than it could go, and ended up sitting out for almost 6 months! Now, I am back in the saddle and ready to go!

I have now begun the process of intensely looking over race after race trying to decide what major races I am going to run in 2013 and which races I would like to keep on the list for future consideration. My entire race schedule for 2013 is posted on the page Race History & 2013 Race Schedule, and I will continue to update that page as I make my decisions and register for races.

Leave a Reply

