The First Flight 5k

Race Name: The First Flight 5k
Distance/Type: 5k
Race Location: Kill Devil Hills, NC
Race Date: April 21, 2012 @ 7:30 am

Finish Time: 37:22
Finish Place (Age Division): 33/53

The First Flight 5k is the most challenging 5k I’ve ever ran! The course is ran through the Wright Brothers National Memorial, where the Wright brothers made the first flight in American history!!!

The first 1/2 a mile is around the base of the memorial, and the next 1/2 mile is straight up the memorial!! A 25% grade for a little over 1/4 of a mile! After running back down the memorial, the rest of the course was a nice n’ easy out and back flat course.

The had one water station right around the 2 mile marker, which is great for a 5k. Most local 5k races do not have a water station. The weather was amazing for the race as it was 65 degrees and sunny! It was a nice break from running in the cold Michigan weather we’ve been having lately! In addition to the water station, I have to say the event organization, setup, and volunteers were amazing! If I lived closer, this is a 5k I would most definitely run again!

My Dad & I

Leave a comment