2nd Annual Resolution 5k

Race Name: 2nd Annual Resolution 5k
Distance/Type: 5k
Race Location: Lansing, MI
Race Date: December 31, 2011 @ 10:00 am

Finish Time: 33:48

Last night at 7:30 pm Jodie and Ryan came over to help move some furniture and told me about this 5k they were running in the morning. Spending about 30 minutes trying to convince me to join them, they left with me still wavering. As the night went on and the more I thought about it I decided that doing a 5k is just what I need!

Race day is such an adrenaline rush for me! Since surgery in early November and having a slight stress fracture in my foot I haven’t ran since my marathon on October 30th. Looking forward to my race schedule for 2012 I know that within the next week I needed to get into serious training mode.

As morning approached and I rolled out of bed I was asking myself how I got myself into this. It’s New Years Eve Day and I have a million things to do, but I wasn’t going to back out. Driving over to the race site I told myself that since I really haven’t ran in 8 weeks that I needed to have realistic expectations and just hope to finish.

Pulling into the parking lot of the Our Savior Lutheran Church I parked my car and hopped out to go register on site. (All race fees went to the Our Savior Lutheran Church School.) As I walked into the gym to register my body immediately kicked into race mode, which for me is ultra competitive. Not competitive with those I’m running with, but ultra competitive with myself! Just finishing wasn’t going to be good enough for me and I knew it! My goal was come in under the 35:00 mark!

The race started at 10:00 am on the dot and Jodie and I took off together. It was about 33 degrees, no snow, and the wind was non-existent. The course was a nice 3.1 mile run through country. I finished in 33:48 which is amazing for my first run/race in 8 weeks!

Overall this was a great race with friends to end 2011 and get myself all excited about 2012! *~* Happy New Years *~*

Leave a Reply

