Race For Your Memories

Race Name: Race For Your Memories
Distance/Type: 5k
Race Location: Keningston Metro Park, Milford, MI
Race Date and Time: May 23, 2010 @ 7:00 a.m.

Finish Time: 44:41
Finish Place (Age Division): 18/18

After weeks of trying to find the perfect race for my first race, I decided to take the plunge and registered for the “Race For Your Memories 5k”. I picked this race because it was close to my parent’s home and my Mom agreed to run the race with me, as this would be the first “official race” for both of us!

We woke up bright and early on race morning, got ready and drove out to the park with plenty of time to spare. Both of us had been training with the Couch to 5k training program. We picked up our race packets, pinned on our bibs, and waited for the race to start!

Let me tell you what… a 5k (equaling 3.1 miles) kicked my butt. My Mom was amazing and ran/walked the entire race with me! In all honesty, there was more walking than there was running…. but I finished and that was my only goal.

(Finished States: Michigan)

Leave a Reply

