Fort For Fitness

Race Name: Fort For Fitness
Distance/Type: Half Marathon
Race Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Race Date: September 24, 2011 @ 8:00 a.m.

Finish Time: 2:28:00
Finish Place (Age Division): 171/244

This is the first half marathon I’ve ran and I loved it! It = the race and the distance! The first 9 miles were great, and then as I came up to the 11 mile marker both of my calves severely cramped! I have never had cramps like this in my legs before and in all honesty, all I wanted to do was to sit down on the side of the road and cry. The pain was beginning to be to much when I started chanting my favorite quote over and over in my mind, “Pain is Temporary Quitting is Forever”. Knowing I had never quit any race before I wasn’t about to start with this one!

Powering through the pain, I ended up with an official finish time of 2:28:00 flat, which is 2:00 minutes short of my goal time of 2:30:00!!!!

This is race is an amazing race to run as your first half marathon. It is very “new runner” friendly and the course time allows you to almost walk the entire half marathon route, if you wish! The course is basically as flat as they come, and goes through parks, golf courses, downtown Fort Wayne, and the finish line is over homeplate in their Minor League Baseball Stadium. Let me tell you what, coming down the shoot down into the outfield, running around the warning track, and down the first base line to home plate is an awesome way to finish a half marathon!! This is a family race that my Mom, Dad, two Aunts, an Uncle, three cousins, and others all run together and a race I will do annually!

(Finished States: Indiana, Michigan)

Leave a Reply

